Faculty

Joseph Bangura

Professor of History
Chair of History Department
Director of African Studies

Dr. Bangura Curriculum Vitae

Phone:

269.337.5785

Email:

Joseph.Bangura@kzoo.edu

Credentials:

M.A., Ph.D., Dalhousie University
B.A. (Hons) in History, University of Sierra Leone


Dr. Charlene Boyer Lewis

Charlene Boyer Lewis

Professor of History
Director of American Studies

Dr. Boyer Lewis Curriculum Vitae

Phone:

269.337.7058

Email:

Charlene.BoyerLewis@kzoo.edu

Credentials:

Ph.D., with distinction, University of Virginia
M.A. The American University
B.A., Kalamazoo College


Dr. Lisa Brock

Lisa Brock

Associate Professor of History
Specialty in African and African Diaspora History

Dr. Brock Curriculum Vitae

Phone:

269.552.5165

Email:

Lisa.Brock@kzoo.edu

Credentials:

Ph.D. in African History, Northwestern University
M.A. in African History, secondary area Latin American History, Northwestern University
B.A. in History, Howard University


Dr. Christina Carroll

Christina B. Carroll

(On Sabbatical Fall 2019)

Marlene Crandell Francis Assistant Professor of History

Dr. Carroll Curriculum Vitae

Phone:

269.337.7056

Email:

Christina.Carroll@kzoo.edu

Credentials:

M.A.,Ph.D. – in European History/Global History, University of North Carolina Chapel Hill
B.A. Vassar College


Dr. Dennis Frost

Dennis Frost

Wen Chao Chen Associate Professor of East Asian Studies

Dr. Frost Curriculum Vitae

Phone:

269.337.7442

Email:

Dennis.Frost@kzoo.edu

Credentials:

Ph.D., Columbia University
B.A., Wittenburg University


Dr. Jeffrey Haus

Jeffrey Haus

Professor of History and Religion
Director of Jewish Studies

Dr. Haus Curriculum Vitae

Phone:

269.337.5789

Email:

Jeffrey.Haus@kzoo.edu

Bio:

Jeffrey Haus received his Ph.D. in Modern Jewish History from Brandeis University in 1997. His teaching focuses on the history of the Jewish people in Europe and America. He is the author of Challenges of Equality: Judaism, State, and Education in Nineteenth-Century France (Wayne State University Press, 2009), as well as several articles exploring the history of French Jewry. He also served as guest-editor for issue of the CCAR Journal commemorating the bicentennial of the Paris San Hedrin (Winter 2007). His current research examines the relationship between Jews and money in modern France.


Dr. James Lewis

James Lewis

Professor of History

Dr. Lewis Curriculum Vitae

Phone:

269.337.5791

Email:

James.Lewis@kzoo.edu

Credentials:

Ph.D., History, University of Virginia
M.A., History, The American University
B.A., Government, College of William and Mary


Dr. Rochelle Rojas

Rochelle Rojas

Assistant Professor of History

Dr. Rojas Curriculum Vitae

Phone:

269.337.7123

Email:

Rochelle.Rojas@kzoo.edu

Credentials:

Ph.D., History, Duke University
M.A., History, Duke University
M.A., Education, University of Florida
B.A., Education, University of Florida


Dr. David Barclay

David Barclay

Margaret and Roger Scholten Professor of International Studies, Emeritus

Dr. Barclay Curriculum Vitae

Email:

David.Barclay@kzoo.edu

Credentials:

Ph.D., History, Stanford University
M.A., History, University of Florida
B.A., History, University of Florida


Dr. John Wickstrom

John Wickstrom

Professor of History, Emeritus

Dr. Wickstrom Curriculum Vitae

Email:

John.Wickstrom@kzoo.edu

Credentials:

Ph.D. Yale University
M.A. Yale University
B.A. Michigan State University (magna cum laude)