Faculty


Dr. Charlene Boyer Lewis

Charlene Boyer Lewis

Professor of History
Director of American Studies

Dr. Boyer Lewis Curriculum Vitae

Phone:

269.337.7058

Email:

Charlene.BoyerLewis@kzoo.edu

Credentials:

Ph.D., with distinction, University of Virginia
M.A. The American University
B.A., Kalamazoo College


Dr. Christina Carroll

Christina B. Carroll

(On Sabbatical 2023-2024)

Associate Professor of History

Dr. Carroll Curriculum Vitae

Phone:

269.337.7056

Email:

Christina.Carroll@kzoo.edu

Credentials:

M.A.,Ph.D. – in European History/Global History, University of North Carolina Chapel Hill
B.A. Vassar College


Akil Cornelius

Akil Cornelius

Visiting Assistant Professor of History

Phone:

269.337.5785

Email:

Akil.Cornelius@kzoo.edu

Credentials:

PhD in History, Michigan State University 

MA Peace and Conflict Studies, Norwich University 

BA Political Science, Washington College


Dr. Dennis Frost

Dennis Frost

Wen Chao Chen Professor of East Asian Studies

Dr. Frost Curriculum Vitae

Phone:

269.337.7442

Email:

Dennis.Frost@kzoo.edu

Credentials:

Ph.D., Columbia University
B.A., Wittenberg University


Taylor Gombos

Visiting Assistant Professor of History

Phone:

269.337.7123

Email:

Taylor.Gombos@kzoo.edu

Credentials:

Ph.D., in History, New York University

M.A. in Central European History, Central European University

M.A. in the Social Sciences, University of Chicago

B.A. History, University of Wisconsin-Superior


Dr. Jeffrey Haus

Jeffrey Haus

Professor of History and Religion
Director of Jewish Studies

Dr. Haus Curriculum Vitae

Phone:

269.337.5789

Email:

Jeffrey.Haus@kzoo.edu

Bio:

Jeffrey Haus received his Ph.D. in Modern Jewish History from Brandeis University in 1997. His teaching focuses on the history of the Jewish people in Europe and America. He is the author of Challenges of Equality: Judaism, State, and Education in Nineteenth-Century France (Wayne State University Press, 2009), as well as several articles exploring the history of French Jewry. He also served as guest-editor for issue of the CCAR Journal commemorating the bicentennial of the Paris San Hedrin (Winter 2007). His current research examines the relationship between Jews and money in modern France.


Dr. James Lewis

James Lewis

Chair of History Department

Professor of History

Dr. Lewis Curriculum Vitae

Phone:

269.337.5791

Email:

James.Lewis@kzoo.edu

Credentials:

Ph.D., History, University of Virginia
M.A., History, The American University
B.A., Government, College of William and Mary


Dr. Rochelle Rojas

Rochelle Rojas

Assistant Professor of History

Dr. Rojas Curriculum Vitae

Phone:

269.337.7123

Email:

Rochelle.Rojas@kzoo.edu

Credentials:

Ph.D., History, Duke University
M.A., History, Duke University
M.A., Education, University of Florida
B.A., Education, University of Florida


Emeriti faculty

Dr. David Barclay

David Barclay

Margaret and Roger Scholten Professor of International Studies, Emeritus

Dr. Barclay Curriculum Vitae

Email:

David.Barclay@kzoo.edu

Credentials:

Ph.D., History, Stanford University
M.A., History, University of Florida
B.A., History, University of Florida


Dr. Lisa Brock

Lisa Brock

Professor of History, Emerita
Specialty in African and African Diaspora History

Dr. Brock Curriculum Vitae

Email:

Lisa.Brock@kzoo.edu

Credentials:

Ph.D. in African History, Northwestern University
M.A. in African History, secondary area Latin American History, Northwestern University
B.A. in History, Howard University


Dr. John Wickstrom

John Wickstrom

Professor of History, Emeritus

Dr. Wickstrom Curriculum Vitae

Email:

John.Wickstrom@kzoo.edu

Credentials:

Ph.D. Yale University
M.A. Yale University
B.A. Michigan State University (magna cum laude)

Email:

John.Wickstrom@kzoo.edu

Credentials:

Ph.D. Yale University
M.A. Yale University
B.A. Michigan State University (magna cum laude)


David Strauss

David Strauss

Professor of History, Emeritus (Fall 1974-Fall 2002)
Director of American Studies, 1976-2002

Email:

David.Strauss@kzoo.edu

Credentials:


STAFF

Amy Leu

Office Coordinator

Email:

Amy.Leu@kzoo.edu

Phone:

269.337.7053